

## EGYPT'S FACT SHEET

### for

# MULTILATERAL CONVENTION TO IMPLEMENT TAX TREATY RELATED MEASURES TO PREVENT BASE EROSION AND PROFIT SHIFTING

Due to some conflicting posts shared over the different websites which includes inaccurate information in many cases, please find hereafter some facts surrounding Egypt's MLI deposit and entry into effect dates:

- 1- Egypt deposited its instrument of ratification on the 30 of September 2020.
- 2- 54 Notified Tax Agreements by Egypt in its MLI Position (Egypt's Position is available in OECD website (<u>http://www.oecd.org/tax/treaties/beps-mliposition-egypt-instrument-deposit.pdf</u>), also can be found in previous posts).
- 3- 39 Matched Agreements that could be modified by the MLI once the MLI takes effect for all agreements covered:
  - 01. Albania
  - 02. Bahrain
  - 03. Belgium
  - 04. Bulgaria
  - 05. Canada
  - 06. China (People's Republic of)
  - 07. Czech Republic
  - 08. Denmark
  - 09. Finland
  - 10. France



- 11. Greece
- 12. Hungary
- 13. India
- 14. Indonesia
- 15. Ireland
- 16. Italy
- 17. Japan
- 18. Jordan
- 19. Korea
- 20. Kuwait
- 21. Malaysia
- 22. Malta
- 23. Mauritius
- 24. Morocco
- 25. Netherlands
- 26. Pakistan
- 27. Poland
- 28. Romania
- 29. Russia
- 30. Serbia
- 31. Singapore
- 32. South Africa
- 33. Spain
- 34. Sweden
- 35. Tunisia
- 36. Turkey
- 37. Ukraine
- 38. United Kingdom
- 39. Saudi Arabia
- 4- DATES OF ENTRY INTO EFFECT OF THE MLI WITH RESPECT TO TAXES WITHHELD AT SOURCE FOR THE AGREEMENTS CONCLUDED WITH JURISDICTIONS THAT HAVE RATIFIED THE MLI AS OF 01 March 2021:



- 01. Albania on 1 January 2021
- 02. Belgium: on 1 January 2021
- 03. Canada: on 1 January 2021
- 04. Czech Republic: on 1 January 2021
- 05. Denmark: on 1 January 2021
- 06. Finland: on 1 January 2021
- 07. France: on 1 January 2021
- 08. India: on 1 January 2021
- 09. Indonesia: Unknown, as Indonesia made a reservation under 35(7)(a) to delay the entry into effect of the MLI
- 10. Ireland: on 1 January 2021
- 11. Japan: on 1 January 2021
- 12. Jordan: on 1 January 2021
- 13. Korea: on 1 January 2021
- 14. Malaysia: on 1 January 2022
- 15. Malta: on 1 January 2021
- 16. Mauritius: on 1 January 2021
- 17. Netherlands: on 1 January 2021
- 18. Pakistan: on 1 January 2022
- 19. Poland: on 1 January 2021
- 20. Russia: Unknown, as Russia made a reservation under 35(7)(a) to delay the entry into effect of the MLI
- 21. Serbia: on 1 January 2021
- 22. Singapore: on 1 January 2021
- 23. Sweden: Unknown, as Sweden made a reservation under 35(7)(a) to delay the entry into effect of the MLI
- 24. Ukraine: on 1 January 2021
- 25. United Kingdom: on 1 January 2021
- 26. Saudi Arabia: on 1 January 2021
- 5- DATES OF ENTRY INTO EFFECT OF THE MLI WITH RESPECT TO ALL OTHER TAXES FOR THE AGREEMENTS CONCLUDED WITH JURISDICTIONS THAT HAVE RATIFIED THE MLI AS OF 01 March 2021: (Entry into effect for taxable periods that begin as of)



- 01. Albania on 1 July 2021
- 02. Belgium: on 1 July 2021
- 03. Canada: on 1 July 2021
- 04. Czech Republic: on 1 July 2021
- 05. Denmark: on 1 July 2021
- 06. Finland: on 1 July 2021
- 07. France: on 1 July 2021
- 08. India: on 1 July 2021
- 09. Indonesia: to be confirmed, as Indonesia made a reservation under 35(7)(a) to delay the entry into effect of the MLI
- 10. Ireland: on 1 July 2021
- 11. Japan: on 1 July 2021
- 12. Jordan: on 1 July 2021
- 13. Korea: on 1 July 2021
- 14. Malaysia: on 1 December 2021
- 15. Malta: on 1 July 2021
- 16. Mauritius: on 1 July 2021
- 17. Netherlands: on 1 July 2021
- 18. Pakistan: on 1 October 2021
- 19. Poland: on 1 July 2021
- 20. Russia: to be confirmed, as Russia made a reservation under 35(7)(a) to delay the entry into effect of the MLI
- 21. Serbia: on 1 July 2021
- 22. Singapore: on 1 July 2021
- 23. Sweden: to be confirmed, as Sweden made a reservation under 35(7)(a) to delay the entry into effect of the MLI
- 24. Ukraine: on 1 July 2021
- 25. United Kingdom: on 1 July 2021
- 26. Saudi Arabia: on 1 July 2021

### **Egyptian Tax Authority**

#### **Ministry of Finance**